Free movement

Facts – Free movement between countries

Sweden is a member of the European Union, the EU. The following countries are also members of the EU: Belgium, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, UK, Czech Republic, Germany, Hungary and Austria. Through the EEA Agreement, citizens of Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway are also covered by the principle of free movement within the EU. Switzerland is also covered by the principal of free movement through an agreement with the EU.